INTERVIEW SESSION WITH HONEYDROPS: BUILDING UP BRANDS AS A YOUTH

Today ON THE BLOG, we interview Dasaolu Ayodeji.

Dasaolu Ayodeji is the founder and the Creative Director of Startouch Concepts, a growing and formidable Startup in Nigeria. A brand that aims at creating fashion accessories and statement pieces for men and women.

He takes us through his journey of starting a business in his university days and business now especially during the COVID-19 Pandemic.

Honeydrops: So, tell us about yourself?
Deji: Hmm… Well, my name is Dasaolu Iyinoluwa Ayodeji. I am the Founder and Creative Director, Startouch concept. I am also a graduate of English from the University of Ilorin. I love to create, sing and watch movies.


Honeydrops: That’s cool.
Tell us more about Startouch Concept? What is it all about? How did you start and why did you see the need to?

Deji: Okay… My journey of entrepreneurship started in my University days. In 200l, I wanted to learn a trade. I was enrolled under someone who taught me how to make roses and decorative flower designs. Then, I saw a lapel pin for the first time and I fell in love with it. Rather than wanting to buy it, I wanted to make it. Then I started applying the knowledge of the trade I had learnt into making lapel pins. Same is the story for all of our products too. I saw them, loved them, became curious about making them and learnt how to.
However, the brand, Startouch concept, came as a result of the fact that I wanted to show people that Nigerian products could compete with international standard, making quality affordable. I couldn’t do everything, so I chose to focus on accessories. This brand got it’s name in 2018, and it’s been quite a ride since then.

We started with lapel pins, then went to pocket squares, neckties, bowties, e.t.c.

Honeydrops: Nice. Are your products for men only or are there some ladies can add to their closets?
Deji: Well, we started with men’s accessories. I noticed that men’s accessories are more expensive compared to that of the ladies and wanted to do something about this. However, we are working towards something special for the ladies.
Also, lapel pins are used by ladies too. I smile when I’m told that it’s for only men. I have pictures that say it’s not. Okay, I will send only a few though. Check out the rest on our Instagram page.

Honeydrops: That’s lovely… We hope to see more for ladies
Deji: Certainly… I can’t wait too.

Honeydrops: So, what has business been like especially during the COVID-19 Pandemic and can I say post lockdown (as the gradual easing up occurs)?
Deji: Hmm… At the start of the lockdown, it was terrible. There was nothing! I am grateful for it though. I got to do a lot of thinking, strategizing, rebranding, learning and came up with ideas that I know will change everything once the country is fully reopened. The lockdown allowed me to come up with some crazy ideas and solve foundational problems I had with the business.

Currently, there’s been a positive change in business flow since the ease of the lockdown. I hope that things continue to get better and trust God for increase in coming days.

Honeydrops: Wow, that’s cool
You started your brand in your university days. Do you have any advice for young entrepreneurs and tips for how to manage time and balance business with other life activities (like in your case schooling)?

Deji: Truth is that doing business while in school means you have to put in more effort than the rest. So, get people who will work with you to lighten your load. Secondly, capital is first people before it becomes money. When you do business, let it meet a need. That’s the easiest way to people’s pockets. However, focus more on the need than the profit, so you’ll notice when their needs change and can easily adjust. Doing business in school is mostly dependent on the relationships you make. Make good relationships within and outside business. It helps.


Honeydrops: Alright, If you can say 1 thing to entrepreneurs what would it be?
Deji: Never stop learning. Wait, listen and learn.

Honeydrops: Thanks Deji
Deji: My utmost pleasure. Thanks for having me.


Honeydrops: On a final note, how can we contact you or find your business.

Deji: Follow us on Instagram via @Startouch_concepts and call/SMS/WhatsApp @08160077755

@startouch__concepts

Please feel free to ask any questions in the comment section. Deji will be available to give an answer. Also, don’t forget to reach out to him.

I’d be starting my Newsletter. Please sign up below.

16 thoughts on “INTERVIEW SESSION WITH HONEYDROPS: BUILDING UP BRANDS AS A YOUTH

  1. Hello Deji, please can you tell us how you coped with customer flow at the start of your business? When the flow was good and when it was not. And publicity for your business too?

    Like

    1. I had a really hard time with customer flow at the start of the business. I was working alone and was an introvert. That did work for me at all. Business is all about relationships and connection. If you need more customers, I suggest you look for a team to work with and work on your business connections. Meet people outside you circle of friends and establish a business relationship (you don’t have to be friends).

      Like

    2. Hi Annie 👋. As for advertising, it is everything to your business. I basically had to convince people most of the time. There are other products out there and it took convincing people to buy, test quality and wait, trusting that they’ll come again. I had to put faith in what God will do and also in my products. It wasn’t easy as there were big challenges and because I am self-taught, I had to learn on the job. It’s still not perfect, but it’s better now.
      Then, I realized that I wasn’t pushing for online marketing as much as I should and that’s what I’m working on right now.
      Always remember that feeling when I got the first order. Hmm.. butterflies 😊. I still get that every time someone inquires about my products… Those are good days. Bad days… Well, I have had those as well. Business is like that.
      This reply is getting lengthy (I talk too much) 😂. If I’m given the opportunity of another interview, I’ll be sure to talk more extensively👍👍. So, if you can get Honeydropsblog to interview me again I’m all for it.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.